We use functional cookies for a number of reasons, such as keeping the Costain website reliable and secure and to analyse how our site is being used.
Will you accept our use of non-essential cookies?

Yes No Privacy Notice

Costain Pays Tribute To Its People

23 November 2011

Some of the top people in Engineering are being recognised by their own Company in a special ceremony next year.

The Costain Group, one of the UK’s leading engineering solutions providers, is staging its 2011 Achieving Excellence Awards for Costain people in February.  The Awards cover a range of categories including Safety and Team of the Year.

A record total of 1,545 nominations were received from people across the business from which a short list was then selected.

“The response from Costain people has been amazing,” said Andrew Wyllie, Costain Chief Executive. “We take these Awards very seriously in the Company. For our people to be recognised by their colleagues for their outstanding performance in the year is a fitting tribute. It is a great opportunity to honour and profile the tremendous work that our people do.”

The successful shortlisted nominees by category are:  

Contribution to Safety
Alan Cheung
Simon Cooper
Helen Dempsey
Paul Harrington
Ian Nixon
Promanex Conoco Phillips Team
Des Roy

Supply Chain Partner of the Year
Bourne Steel
Caunton Engineering Limited
Denholm Industrial Services Limited
FBW Engineering Services Ltd
Prater Ltd 

Business Development/Customer Satisfaction
Tim Bowen
Matt Crabtree
Lee Davies
Grant Johnson
Rail Team led by Gren Edwards
Dr Vicknayson Thevendran

Team of the Year
A40 Penblewin
GMWDA PFI – Manchester Waste
M53 Bidston Moss Viaduct
Farringdon Station Construction Works
Royal Oak Portal

Contribution to the Community
Phil Baker
Jacqui Bolsover
Church Village Bypass Team
Newbury Parkway Team
Patricia Walker
Catherine Warbrick
James York  

Trainee of the Year
Mark Addison
Adam Bennett
James Bulleid
Kieran Christison
Daniel Milton
Katie Swanick
Andy Thornton

Innovation of the Year
Phil Budden
Andy Bull and GSD Team for “MOTES”
ClerkMaxwell Enhanced Oil Recovery Team
Paul Eckersley
Steve Jackson
Mark Lloyd
M1 J10-13 Survey Team led by Stuart Fagg

Unsung Hero
Alan Baker
Craig Brown
Anthony Davies
Brian Humphrey
Emma Laverty
Mick Long
Colin Pegg
Sudesh Pillay

Manager of the Year
Martin Baughurst
John Boyd
Simon Ellison
Clive Loosemore
Derek Smith
Dr Vicknayson Thevendran
Mike Thomson