Leadership and governance

Our commitment to Corporate Responsibility is demonstrated by our management and throughout our workforce.

Being a responsible business requires commitment from all. Strong leadership is needed to ensure that sustainability is embedded in the culture of the company.

The Board is responsible and the Executive Board of Costain is accountable for all aspects of Corporate Responsibility/ Sustainability, including setting policy and strategy and providing leadership to drive our Sustainability strategy.

We have an established Sustainability Committee, consisting of directors and senior managers with direct responsibilities for key aspects of our Sustainability performance. The Committee is responsible for implementing and delivering policy and reports to the Executive Board.

Every employee is responsible for working in a responsible and sustainable way.

Sustainability Committee

Names Job role CR Champion
Catherine Warbrick Corporate responsibility director  
Gavin Bye Safety, health and environment director Safety, health and environment
Amy Shuffleton Group environment manager Environment
Sally Austin Group hr director Development, equality, diversity and inclusion
James York Corporate responsibility manager Community 
Martin Orrells General manager Supply chain, sustainable procurement
Martin Baughurst Project director Operations / customers
Isabel Coman Project director Operations / customers
     Sector leads
Geri Badura Sector environment manager Rail 
Steve Fozard Head of supply chain - water Water
Andrea Green  Legacy lead Highways 
Dr Bryony Livesey Head of technology and consultancy Nuclear
Katherine Williams Environmental advisor Power
Sarah Steen SHE advisor Oil and gas
    Executive Board Sponsor
Darren James Managing director Safety, health and environment
Sally Austin Group hr director People
David Taylor Commercial director Supply chain, modern slavery
Tracey Wood Legal director and co. secretary Community, Costain charitable foundation